12 Comments

I voted for Bernie in the last two Democratic Primaries for my state. I would vote for him again. No other public figure has done as much to shift the paradigm of human concern to a center of dignity for all than Bernie Sanders.

I think the Squad often engages in theatrics and drama that is unhelpful.

Expand full comment
author

Alright, here are my thoughts on what "The Squad" means for the future of Left politics.

To start, I think we - myself included - put too much stock in their 2018 elections. It was amidst the Trump Presidency, and I'll admit, I took AOC's victory over the establishment incumbent as a sign that the American people were ready to move past the neoliberalism of the Democratic Party in favor of a more Progressive agenda.

So while I've come to realized that none of these 4 Congresswoman will be a savior, it does still signal to me that the there are sizable parts of this country that want something different. I think this is evident in the number of voters who voted for Obama in '08, then Trump in '16, then showed interest in Bernie's '20 campaign.

So now, I don't think any individual will be the next torchbearer after Bernie. But what I do think is the election of more and more left-leaning (though still imperfect) politicians shows that there is the first steps to making a Leftist coalition to advocate for Progressive politics inside the American electoral system.

What do you think?

Expand full comment

Clearly some people like what Bernie is selling, but I doubt it will ever be a majority of the electorate. The dems knew he would lose even to as awful candidate as Trump was.

Expand full comment